Graduation 2012

I am writing this blog as a university degree holder, with honors to boot! This is a significant milestone that proves nothing will ever hold us back if we are determined enough. It also proves that our past cannot determine our future. Honestly, four years ago I couldn’t believe that one day I would graduate from a prestigious University. There is a lesson, here.  Sometimes we need to just do our best in life and not worry about everything working out.  I have learned that worry attracts fear and if you are fearful, you are also too scared to even try.  I was not thinking of my own growth, or what would happen in my life— I was thinking about how I could serve my community.  One of my respected role models Marcus Garvey once said with fear you are already defeated without trying.
My readers, let’s no waste our time  worrying too much. Life is too short to worry. My mom always tells me that I should enjoy life to the fullest when I put humanity in my heart, she insists to live is luck and to die is a guarantee.  She asked me this question: how would we like to be remembered when we are no longer alive? I respect my mom for installing those kinds of value into me.

I believe everyone deserves a better life. When I meet children in Kibera, in their eyes I see the future leaders of Kenya. The great leaders often come from humble background. They are made unique by the struggles they have faced, and they know themselves how most of the population lives.

I look forward to keep posting on this blog as I now have much more time- but being a husband is another responsibility. Anyway I will try to navigate through and post once in a while. Keep the fire burning and focus on your dream, believe me it’s possible.

Peace!
K

5 responses to this post.

  1. All the best to you Kennedy!

    Keep on changing the world!

    Your fellow classmate,

    Reply

  2. Posted by Doug Anthony on October 11, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Congratulations Kennedy! Your wonderful accomplishments make me proud to be a member of your species. I wish you and Jess a beautiful future life shared with the girls and families of Kibera!

    with respect and affection,
    The Philosopher’s Father

    Reply

  3. Posted by mark on October 26, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Did you get more books for the girls school?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rita Ott on January 18, 2013 at 4:02 am

    You are truly blessed, Kennedy. I pray that God continues to bless you with strength and focus and love. You are truly one of God’s amazing gifts, one that He has placed in a place where you are so truly needed and appreciated. My prayers will be with you. I saw the story on television tonight, Rock Center with Brian Williams with Chelsea Clinton. Your story is amazing and your life’s work is even more amazing. You represent God’s true hope and mercy in this world. May the children you teach and care for live healthy lives enriched by education and God’s love and protection. I am a 62-year-old grandmother from Ohio in the US, and you will be on my mind for days to come.

    Reply

  5. Kennedy, I am working on a book about people doing great things and I have one question for you – why do you think some people with an idea or vision for a better world act upon it while others do not – what is it about those who take action vs those who never do?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

