Inspirational Talk at Snow School, Middletown, CT

I woke up early in the morning and ready to share my thoughts with the little kids from Snow School. I was touched to see how the little kids were ready to hear from me. I had to speak for the kids from 3rd grade to 5th grade. The little ones were overwhelmed by by positive energy that passed a cross the room as a lightening  thunder and they could passed it to me again.  The room was full of happiness, laughing, smiling and hope for a better future.

I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t prepare and now am in front of the little ones. But I had one message for them, “Working hard today will determine your tomorrow”. I told them my story, growing up in Kibera slums and making it to Wesleyan University was not an easy journey. Kibera is one of the poorest place in the world. I tried my best how I can express my message to them to understand. As you know they are little kids.

I started by drawing their attention about Africa, Kenya. I told them in Kenya, there is beautiful animals. Latter on, I took their attention to my world in Kibera. A world far away from the world of beautiful animals and a world that people struggle to survive. A world where many people live under one dollar per day.

I shared my story and the kids were touched. When you have done positive thing, you kind of feel it. I felt that I’ve planted some positive thoughts in the heart of the little ones. I did my job, and I hope the out come will be great.

I felt so happy, when I gave my time for this kids from public school. I didn’t want to be paid anything. I wanted to give them something good for free. I knew they couldn’t be in a situation to pay inspirational speakers to come to their school because those kind of people need money. I did it, because I too was helped freely.

I wanted the kids to know the important of education. I told them they should not take it for granted because their future depend on education. Many kids around the world are willing to study but their is no opportunities for them. I wanted the kids to know that its bad to misuse something and yet many are dying to have what they have. I know they can be poor, but no way it can be compared to the poverty in Kibera slums.

I’m touched how my happiness comes from doing good. The only solution to the world is to be happy. If you are happy, you will be willing to help other people. If you are happy inside you will think about those who are suffering. “Happiness reflect happiness” thats my quote. But if you are sad, your sadness will affect the surroundings.

My last message, happiness does not come from your wealth, happiness does not come from your car. Happiness comes from your inside. I don’t think I can be happy when I know the injustices that are happening to the voiceless? No, I can’t be happy!

But, I’m happy for a reason: I know their is a lot of problems in the world, and I can’t solve them all but I’ve done my best and I’m happy.

I leave you my friends and supporters with happiness that comes from inside.

Peace!

Black Kennedy

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by charles on April 21, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    My brother Ken, I am inspired by your emmence experience, you refused to be teriffied you are a man of strong faith and vision, this was very evident even during those early years we spent in kibera doing charity works, this and many more made us to be whom we are and will never dissapear in our minds. We used to saw things differently most of the time we find it hard to trust becouse we find ourselves wounded, lacking confidence, anxious about many things, feeling the need to protect ourselves. it was hard to trust and especially it was hard to show weaknesses and to be vulnerable, everything kenn is still clear in my mind. sure it was hard to be vulnerable, and to trust that it is safe to love, Distress and self-protection were everywhere. AND YET, DEEP DOWN , VULNERABILITY AND SURRENDER WERE WHAT WE MOST DEEPLY.

    Perhaps the most important thing we ever need to learn is this: it is safe to LOVE. It is safe to love , Yes , it is safe to be vulnerable because we are in loving hands. It is safe to surrender because we fall into light, not darkness. it is safe to be weak because the strength we need is found when we give up on our own power its safe Ken to give up the hurts we cling to because these lose their forse when we are in Love with Change.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jess on April 22, 2010 at 1:06 am

    I’m just proud to know you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by kemba on April 22, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    aw this is sweet and inspirational

    Reply

Leave a Reply

